Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts by Kate Racculia

Reviewed by Melissa Beck (Library Staff)

This mystery centers around one of my favorite tropes. You know the one–an eccentric billionaire dies and leaves their fortune hidden within a treasure hunt. The billionaire in this case is Vincent Pryce (no relation to that other VP), who nurtured a lifelong obsession for everything Edgar Allen Poe, which adds wonderfully creepy undertones to the clues.

Tuesday Mooney is a professional researcher who has both a way with solving puzzles and loyal, clever friends. They all get wrapped up in solving the clues left by Vincent Pryce and unraveling the shady mystery behind an unexpected (but very charming) member of their team.

Injected with effortlessly cool banter and a cast of colorful characters varying widely in age, this book is just plain fun. I enjoyed it so much that as soon as I found out her previous book, Bellweather Rhapsody, shares at least one character with Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts, I began reading it immediately.

Between the treasure hunt and pop culture allusions, this is an obvious choice for fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready, Player One (although I thought this one was much better!)

Located in Adult Fiction (FIC RACCULIA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

X
X