Magicians Impossible by Brad Abraham

Reviewed by Judy (Library Patron)

Fast paced debut science fiction/fantasy novel that will delight fans of Jim Butcher’s Dreseden Files series and Mission Impossible movies.
Filled with magic, complex characters and plot twists in every chapter, readers will find it difficult to put it down until the very last page.
I am looking forward to the next installment.

Located in Adult Fiction (FIC ABRAHAM)

Conclave by Robert Harris

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Patron)

Fast and fascinating fictitious account of six days behind locked doors at the Vatican when 118 Catholic Cardinals must choose the next Pope. These holy men are still people of the world with ambitions, deceptions and rivalries. I found the story a classic “page turner” as personalities unfold, secrets are revealed and the secret ballot process is described. You do not have to be a Catholic to enjoy this well written story. The twist at the end was delightful.

Located in Adult Fiction (FIC HARRIS)

Hardcore Twenty Four by Janet Evanovich

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Patron)

I am finished with the Stephanie Plum series.
Actually, I was getting bored back around number 10, but kept reading out of loyalty. I kept hoping that author Janet would finally let the characters break out of their moldy roles. Even having three hunky guys in the same story wasn’t enough. They are not fun anymore. Always the same story line every book.
For those of you who need the same story and characters over and over again, you will be happy.
But not for me. I am done until I read a review that one of the characters finally breaks the mold.

Located in Adult Fiction (FIC EVANOVICH)

Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls by Beth McMullen

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Patron)

An adventure story for older elementary readers about a mischievous student named Abigail who discovers that her new boarding school isn’t as boring as she expected. After her mother goes MIA, Abigail sets out to rescue her from a dangerous criminal called The Ghost with help from other “spy students” from school.
It has an unexpected twist at the end, opening the door for the next book in the series. I can’t wait!

Located in Children’s Fiction (J FIC MCMULLEN BK.1)

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa De La Cruz

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Patron)

A sexy, modern re-telling of Jane Austen’s classic, “Pride and Prejudice”. This version is told from Darcy’s point of view, and, spoiler alert, Darcy Fitzwilliam is a woman. Many of the favorite scenes are recreated in modern terms that would have Author Jane blushing in her grave.
A fun, fast read but definitely not for the P & P “purists”.

Located in Adult Fiction (FIC DE LA CRUZ)

The Fortune Teller by Gwendolyn Womack

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Staff)

This second novel of the award winning author of “The Memory Keeper” was a disappointment.
Described as: ” a sweeping and suspenseful saga of romance, fate and fortune” and proclaimed as a must read for the fans of Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series, I was drawn right to it.
Unfortunately a promising story premise failed to evolve. Most of the characters were dull and unlikable. While obviously well researched, the story never jelled and ended too abruptly.

Available through the BRIDGES Library System

 

Goodnight From London by Jennifer Robson

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Staff)

A thoroughly enjoyable audiobook about an American female journalist who is sent to London to cover the second World War from a neutral country’s perspective. The well written characterizations against the backdrop of the London Blitz, D-Day and the war in the Pacific made for fascinating listening.
Narrator Saskia Maarleveld does an remarkable job recreating a variety of accents and voices.
I will be listening to the author’s bestselling book, “Somewhere In France” next.

Available through the BRIDGES Library System

Tasty: The Art and Science of What We Eat by John McQuaid

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Staff)

This Pulitzer Prize-winning author presents a well researched investigation into the mysteries of flavor, taste, culinary research for super foods and the body’s link to what we find “tasty”.He breaks down the chapters into food cultures, history of food, flavor migration, the tongue map, raw versus cooked, DNA research for flavor favorites and many other unique studies that have occurred for centuries concerning food.

Available through the BRIDGES Library System

The Forbidden Garden by Ellen Herrick

Reviewed by Judy B (Library Staff)

Heather Young, author of “The Lost Girls”, describes this book as “a romantic, big-hearted novel that celebrates femininity in all its nurturing, resilient, and fearless power.”
I couldn’t agree more, and loved it as much as the author’s first novel, “The Sparrow Sisters”.
I recommend this to readers who enjoy Sarah Addison Allen, Kate Morton, Alice Hoffman and Audrey Niffenegger.

Available through the BRIDGES Library System

X
X