If you liked A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

…then try one of these books!

Whatever You Do, Don’t Run: True Tales of a Botswana Safari Guide / Peter Allison

Presents tales from a safari guide about his encounters with big cats, elephants, hippos, and other unpredictable animals.

 

The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World / Jennifer Baggett

Three friends at a crossroads in their twenties quit their high pressure New York media jobs, leave their friends and everything familiar behind, and embark on a year-long backpacking adventure around the world.

The Oregon Trail: An American Journey / Rinker Buck

Road trip, old-school style! Though the Oregon Trail fell out of favor with travelers after the transcontinental railroad was finished in 1869, it’s still possible to travel the trail from Missouri to Oregon (though some parts are now paved roads). Over 100 years after the last known crossing, journalist Rinker Buck, his brother, and his brother’s Jack Russell terrier set out in a covered wagon pulled by mules.

Paris in Love / Eloisa James

Chronicles the year that the author and her family lived in Paris, describing her walking tours of the city, her school-age children’s attempts to navigate foreign language schools, and her thoughts on the pleasures and eccentricities of French living.

 

A Year in Provence / Peter Mayle

The author describes his experiences when he and his wife moved to a two-hundred-year-old French farmhouse, and shares his observations on the people and culture of Provence.

 

The Great Northern Express: A Writer’s Journey Home / Howard F. Mosher

Documents the author’s road trip across twenty-first-century America, where he shared personal encounters with homeless people, country performers, and readers and writers from all walks of life.

 

The Big Year: A Tale of Man, Nature, and Fowl Obsession / Mark Obmascik

Follows the 1998 Big Year competition between Sandy Komito, Al Levantin, and Greg Miller, during which the three rivals risked their lives to set a new North American birding record.

 

Around the World in 50 Years: My Adventure to Every Country on Earth / Albert Podell

In an extraordinary tale of courage, persistence, determination and the uncanny ability to extricate himself from one dangerous situation after another, the author recounts his adventures as he set two records—one for the longest automobile journey ever made around the world, and one for going to every country on Earth.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail / Cheryl Strayed

A powerful, blazingly honest, inspiring memoir: the story of a 1,100 mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe–and built her back up again.

 

The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World / Eric Weiner

Draws on the author’s experiences as a foreign correspondent and reporter to evaluate more than three dozen countries for their happiness potential, in a lighthearted survey that includes profiles of such locales as the American shores, glacial Iceland, and the Bhutan jungles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

X
X