As a member of the CAFÉ consortium, the Delafield Library shares a catalog of materials with all CAFÉ member libraries. The CAFÉ consortium currently includes the twenty-four public libraries in Waukesha and Jefferson counties of Wisconsin. Certain policies and limits are determined jointly by the membership of CAFÉ.
Eligibility and registration for card
Residents and taxpayers of Waukesha and Jefferson counties, as well as other Wisconsin counties, may apply for a free library card. All applicants under age 18 must have permission and signature of a parent or legal guardian. If a parent or legal guardian’s card is blocked because of outstanding unreturned material and/or fees, the material must be returned and/or the cost paid before any minor in the household is issued a card.
A photo identification card with a current address is required for all applicants. Acceptable forms of proof are:
- Valid Wisconsin Driver’s License
- Wisconsin Issued State ID
Or, one of the following current items bearing the current address, combined with a photo identification card (which may include a driver’s license) from a school or government agency:
- Residential property tax statement
- Current rent receipt or lease agreement
- Utility bill dated within the last 30 days
- Current bank statement dated within the last 30 days
- Canceled mail postmarked within the last 30 days
- Online invoice or bill, such as a utility bill, presented by applicant on a smartphone, tablet, or computer
Library users must present a library card (either physical or on the app) each time materials are borrowed. Library staff may make an exception if a patron verifies their current address by presenting photo identification.
Temporary cards will be given to individuals who are temporarily staying in the area. Individuals will have to give both their local address as well as their home address. Temporary cards will be good for three months and can be renewed if necessary. Cards will be limited to five checkouts at a time.
Patrons who do not have a card in the system are able to create a temporary online card. The card will only be good for one month and will have very limited features. Patrons must then come in to the library with proof of their address in order to get a permanent card.
Responsibility of cardholders
The person to whom a library card is registered, with the exception of minors, is responsible for all items checked out on the card. The holder agrees to obey all of the rules and regulations of the Delafield Public Library and any other CAFÉ member libraries which they use, and to promptly pay all fines and charges for overdue materials and lost or damaged items. Items checked out on a minor’s card are the responsibility of the parent or legal guardian.
Library card holders agree to report any change of address, telephone number or email address to the library, so that they may be contacted about items on hold and about overdue materials.
Library cards have an expiration date of 18 months and must be renewed either by coming in person to the library or calling on the phone and verifying their information.
If a library card is lost or stolen, it is the cardholder’s responsibility to report that to the library. All items checked out prior to the date the card is reported lost are the responsibility of the patron. Library staff is not responsible for assuring that the person who uses a card for borrowing materials is the cardholder or has permission to use that card. A lost library card can be replaced for $1.00.
Users who check out special collections assume responsibility for any damage done to personal audiovisual equipment during the use of library materials. The library assumes no responsibility for such damage.
Parental responsibility for minor’s use of card
Items checked out on a minor’s card are the responsibility of the parent or legal guardian. Parents or guardians agree to obey all of the rules and regulations of the library, to promptly pay all fines and charges associated with their child’s library card, and to report any change of contact information to the library.
The library does not restrict access to any material by age, and leaves the responsibility for children’s use of materials to each child’s parent or legal guardian. Parents are strongly encouraged to monitor their own child’s reading, viewing, and listening, and to be aware of what they check out. Library staff members are pleased to assist parents in finding out more about particular books, music, or movies so that they can make informed decisions about their child’s use.
State law and the library’s Privacy of Library Records and Library Use policy govern the information about a minor’s library records that may be given to a parent or guardian.
Loan periods for patrons:
- 3 weeks: Books/Audiobooks/Playaways/CDs/Magazines
- 2 weeks: TV Series
- 1 week: DVDs/Blu-Rays/Board Games/Hotspots/Rokus
- 5 Days: Special Collection Passes (Milwaukee County Zoo Pass, Milwaukee Art Museum Pass, Betty Brinn Children’s Museum Pass)
Because due dates vary by item type, users are responsible to check their library account to note when materials are due.
Most items may be renewed up to three times if no other patrons are waiting for the items. Renewals may be made in person at the checkout desk, catalog terminals, by telephone, using the internet, or the CAFE Libraries app.
Renewals are not allowed on certain special collections, including hotspots, Rokus, and passes.
Renewal amounts listed on emails and receipts are the total number of renewals available if no one else has the item on hold. If another patron has the item on hold, you will not be able to renew the item.
Interlibrary loan materials from outside of the Bridges Library system may not be renewed and are subject to the loan limits placed on the item by the owning institution.
Loan limits (number of items concurrently checked out)
Cardholders may have up to 250 items checked out of the library at one time.
Late fees are charged for items that are returned after their due date, as a means of encouraging users to return items promptly so that others can use these shared resources. There is a late fee-free “grace period” for items checked out at the Delafield Public Library. Items returned within 72 hours of the due date will not be charged fines, with the exception of hotspots, Rokus, or passes. However, if items are returned after the 72 hour period, the fine will be charged from the original due date.
Late fees for DVDs are $0.50 a day. Fees for hotspots, Rokus, and any passes are $50.00 a day. Fees for any other item are $0.15 a day.
Email, phone, and text overdue notices are sent as a courtesy only. Failure to receive a reminder or overdue notice or to verify due dates (through receipts, online account access, app access, or by phoning the library) does not remove the user’s responsibility to return items promptly and pay late fees.
1st Overdue Notice Sent: 7 Days after item is due
2nd Overdue Notice Sent: 14 Days after item is due
3rd Overdue Notice Sent: 28 Days after item is due
Damaged and lost materials
The library accepts replacement copies of lost or damaged materials for only those belonging to the Delafield Public Library. The item must be new and have a matching ISBN number. Otherwise each individual item has a replacement price. No refunds are given if lost materials are found after having been paid for; the materials become the property of the individual who paid for them.
Items obtained for users from other libraries will be assessed the lost/damaged charges of the owning library.
Denial of borrowing privileges
Borrowing privileges will be denied when a user:
- Has unpaid fines or charges of $10.00 or more
- Is suspended or banned due to any issues as outlined in the Library’s code of conduct and/ or per the library director’s discretion.
Access to materials in, and outside of, the library’s collection
Users may place reserves/holds on items in the CAFÉ catalog and specify that the items be delivered to their library of choice. The CAFÉ catalog is available online through the Internet, the CAFÉ Libraries App, as well as in the library.
The CAFÉ catalog is not the only record of holdings from which a patron may borrow. Users who do not find exactly what they are looking for with CAFÉ are encouraged to speak with a librarian, who will be happy to search for materials in other libraries throughout the state. Please note that due dates, fines, and charges for lost/damaged materials from beyond the CAFÉ catalog are set by the owning library.
Adopted by the Delafield Public Library Board, January 11, 2022
Appendix A: Delafield Public Library fines, fees, and replacement costs
- DVDs and Board Games: $0.50 per day
- Hotspots, Rokus, Passes: $50.00 per day
- Books, CDs, CD Books, Playaways, etc.: $0.15 per day
- Photocopying (price includes front and back):
- $0.25 per page black & white
- $0.50 per page for color
- Lost Cards: $1.00
- CD Book Cases/Playaway Cases: $10.00
- Single Disc for CD Book (if disc can be replaced): $10.00
- DVD Case: $3.00
- Item Barcode: $1.00
- Playaway Lanyard or Battery Cover: $1.00/each
- Damaged/Lost Item: List Price
- Lost Hotspot, Roku, Passes: $250.00